The Pope’s Resignation

He’s giving up for lent

I don’t even care that he’s not giving up for lent because he’s leaving at the end of February and lent starts tomorrow; this made me smile.

So, the Pope has announced that he’s resigning. I don’t know what it is like to hand in a resignation letter to God, but I still think he’s made a good move. I don’t even mean that in the predictable yay-down-with-organised-religion way you might expect from me; I think he made the right decision, even within the context of the Catholic Church.

A lot of people look up to him. And he’s right that he’s old, and probably dithering a little. And if he isn’t confident in the decisions he is making, or might be making, on the behalf of the other people in his Church then stepping down is the right thing. Don’t get me wrong, I think the Pope has done, ignored and condoned some awful things, but this is the right decision if he sincerely feels he cannot live up to the expectations of well-meaning Catholics.

So, good on you.

2 thoughts on “The Pope’s Resignation”

  1. On a normal kind of circumstance I would agree with you. In this case, if he’s only saving face for the church because of the embarrassment of him being the Pope and having done the vile things that he has… well, there is always suicide. Yep, I just said that. The damage that he has done to his faith is beyond compare in modern times. If he just walks away, riding off into the sunset years of his life unscathed it is a full bore demonstration of what is wrong with Christianity – commit any crime and simply ask for forgiveness… a license to ‘ill.

Leave a Reply

