Blogging out of Sexual Tension

Someone did some research quite recently that showed that female research professors published new research papers at an ever-slower rate as they aged, whereas male research professors published new research at the same rate up until an age, where it suddenly trailed off almost completely. This pattern follows the same pattern as each gender experiences in their sexual libido; women peak in their thirties and trail off as they age, men have a constant publishing-level until all of a sudden it stops.

It is worth pointing out that the research didn’t find any significant difference between life-time publication numbers between the genders, the difference was almost entirely in distribution. I can’t find the research now, which is a shame because I wanted to share it with you (if you know the research I’m on about, or can find it, can you link it in a comment?) If you have read a lot about the life of people like Albert Einstein or Niels Bohr, then you may notice that the idea put forward by the research I mentioned might explain their obsession with their work; it was a by-proxy expression of their sexual drive.

I don’t feel sexually tense at the moment, but this would still seem to make sense. I wrote a lot of blogs while I was in Thailand, despite having a full-time job. Sexual tension in Thailand would have made a lot of sense for me, because my girlfriend (who I lived with and slept with) didn’t have any sex drive, but insisted on sleeping naked and being beautiful. I was constantly tense. And I blogged a lot. I blogged a lot more thoroughly, too; I did more research and made more of an effort to comment on people’s blogs etc. The last time I wrote a lot of blogs in quick succession was early in my Austrian adventure, however for much of the rest of my adventure I blogged less often and researched less for it.

The TV show Malcolm in the Middle has done a joke about this, where the mother (Lois) and father (Hal) give up sex for a while and they see their productivity go up massively: they keep up the house, get hobbies, learn skills etc. They blame it on all the extra time, but it seems that being useful is something that piggybacks on unused sex-drive. This is just a thought.

The research wasn’t so much about the tension, but the libido; the drive. This could explain the pattern I noticed. After all, it’s been a few weeks and I’m back into blogging at a faster-than-normal rate. I’m curious, has anyone else—with blogging or any productive part of their life—noticed this pattern in their life?

4 thoughts on “Blogging out of Sexual Tension”

Leave a Reply

